Faculty Union Awards $7,300 in Student Scholarships

The Joliet Junior College Faculty Union has awarded $7,300 in scholarships to local students. 

“As educators, we understand the value of life-long education, and we are pleased that we can assist students as they pursue their academic goals,” said Bob Marcink, JJC Faculty Union president.  

Scholarships ranged from $300 to $750 and were awarded to the following students: 

Andrew Chlebana of Plainfield: $400  
Julie Conroy of Channahon: $400  
Julia Costa of Channahon: $300  
Cameron Daugherty of New Lenox: $550  
Gabrielle Daugherty of New Lenox: $400  
Lily Hochhalter of Manhattan: $400  
Ryan Hochhalter of Manhattan: $550  
Alexis Johnson of Morris: $750  
Bryson Laken of Joliet: $750  
Jenna Laken of Joliet: $550  
Elizabeth Miller of Mokena: $550  
Katherine Miller of Mokena: $550  
Emily Reppy of Yorkville: $300  
Sydney Reppy of Yorkville: $300  
Brighid Zelko of Minooka: $550 

“These students have all demonstrated a desire to explore new horizons, and we are happy to play a small part in their journey,” Marcink said. 

The union has awarded scholarships annually since 1996.