Official Results for JJC Trustees Election

As of April 27, the results are official for the Joliet Junior College Board of Trustees election. These top vote-getters in their respective races have won seats on the board.

Trustees oath of office
From left, trustees Broderick, Budzinski and Lee
take the oath of office, administered by
President Mitchell

To serve 6-year terms:

  • Michelle Lee: 23,674 votes – 24.29%
  • James A. Budzinski: 23,585 votes – 24.19%

To serve an unexpired 4-year term:

  • Maureen Flanagan Broderick: 49,140 votes – 100%

Each took their oath of office during a special meeting of the Board of Trustees on Wednesday. Lee, of Shorewood, and Budzinski, of Mokena, are each new to the board and begin their first terms. Broderick, of New Lenox, first joined the board in 2015. Results became official following the canvassing of votes by county clerks or board of election commissioners.

Following Wednesday’s swearing in ceremonies, trustees elected Dan O’Connell the new board chair, Broderick to vice chair, and Nancy Garcia-Guillen as secretary. 

Wunderlich honored
Wunderlich presented plaque from
President Mitchell

The board also Wednesday recognized outgoing trustee Betty Washington, who had served on the board since 2020, and approved a resolution to honor outgoing chairman Bob Wunderlich for his more than 44 years of service to the college. 

Wunderlich joined the board in 1977 and is one of only six trustees in the state’s history to have served more than 40 years on their local community college board.  Wunderlich chaired the board’s Buildings and Grounds Committee for 20 years, leading efforts to transform facilities across the college. The 2008-2013 Master Plan constructed seven new buildings and renovations, representing the most sweeping physical changes to the college in its history. In 2018, the JJC Foundation presented Wunderlich with the Susan H. Wood Hall of Fame Award for his exceptional service to the college.

The chart below shows the combined election results on April 6 from JJC’s seven-county district, and lists candidates in the order they appeared on the ballot. 

6-Year Term (Elect 2)
Candidate Will Grundy Kendall LaSalle Kankakee Livingston Cook Total Percent
Camielle Holcombe 16313 837 320 5 0 234 843 18552 19.03%
Karla Franchini-Manzo 15011 767 288 4 0 192 807 17069 17.51%
Michelle Lee 20848 1012 433 8 0 344 1029 23674 24.29%
Drew D. Duzinskas 12624 669 297 6 0 198 809 14603 14.98%
James A. Budzinski 20157 1192 515 8 0 303 1410 23585 24.19%
  Total Votes Counted: 97483
Unexpired 4-Year Term (Elect 1)
Candidate Will Grundy Kendall LaSalle Kankakee Livingston Cook Total Percent
Maureen Flanagan Broderick 42389 2352 965 16 0 697 2721 49140 100.00%
Total Votes Counted: 49140

View county-by-county results: 

Will | Grundy | Kendall | LaSalle | Kankakee | Livingston | Cook

JJC is governed by a seven-member Board of Trustees. A student representative, appointed annually, is a non-voting member of the board. Current Board of Trustees members include Chairman Dan O’Connell, Vice Chairwoman Maureen Broderick, Secretary Nancy Garcia-Guillen, John (Jake) Mahalik, Alicia Morales, Michelle Lee, James Budzinski, and new Student Trustee David Lozano, who was sworn in during the April 14 meeting. 

More information about the JJC Board of Trustees, including scheduled meeting dates and agendas, is available on the BOT web page.